12-24mm Micro-Nikkor....say what.......

Discussion in 'Macro, Flowers, Insects, and Greenery' started by Vernon t, Jun 12, 2005.

1. Kenko extension tubes looking for a meaningful relationship with a lens.

The classic question..."I can, but should I?".

Here's something you don't see every day.
    12-24 Micro-Nikkor shots. :p

original.

2. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax;

3. Vernon,

Questions about extension tubes.

How much do they decrease the minimum focus distance for a given lens?

Do they interfere with metering?

Are the Kenko tubes fully compatible with Nikon lenses?

Thanks for your help,

4. The tubes are an economical addition to your bag.
    Before you believe anything I say, let me tell you I'm an extension tube novice. Experience of others is welcomed.

On primes they mostly just let you focus closer, such as with my 85.

On zooms they exhibit a very different behavior. Your zoom ring becomes your focus mechanism with your focus ring becoming fine tuning. I suspect the zoom+focus translates to something analogous to the defocus control on DC lenses. Help me here somebody.
    On the 12-24 the thinnest ring, 12mm, caused the working distance to be about 1/2 inch...almost useless.
    On my 10.5 the focal distance is somewhere behind the front element...don't bother.
    On a Micro-Nikkor is simply lets you focus closer than ever.
    On longer lenses...70-200 or 300f4 the rings shine.
    On my 300f4 (the lens I bought them for) they let my focal distance be from about 20 inches out to 8 feet from the front element...just perfect I hope.

Again...I'm a neophyte here....real experience would be most enlightening.

5. Oh. they maintain full function. VR included.
    Metering, max aperture unaffected it seems...except on micros max aperture is less in close...I'd expect the same.

Here's the 85f1.4