17-55, really that good?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by big_jon, Jul 24, 2007.

1. big_jon

big_jon

Jul 14, 2007
    malaysia
    Thinking of getting rid of my 18-200 VR (my main walkabout) as i have been offered a very good price for it. Considering getting a 12-24DX or a used 17-55DX as i usually take shots around the 18-50mm area....

I'm not a pro, but would just like to ask what real difference will i see for colours and resolution in regard to the price/performance ratio.

If i were to shoot the 17-55DX at the same focal lengths and apertures as the 18-200VR (i.e - 18mm 3.5 etc), would i see noticeable difference in terms of colours and sharpness?

Or is the considerable amount of extra money all for the extra speed? Would like to ask about the bokeh for portraits, how do they compare to popular portrait lens such as the 85mm 1.8?

personally, if i were to spend the asking price for the 17-55DX, i would expect a near perfect lens.

Could some users please help me out by stating:

1. Reasons to buy this lens, what can it offer that no other lens does? What are the reason it is so good?

2. Reasons not to buy this lens or to carefully consider, what are the problems and shortcomings of this lens.

3. How good is the Tamron 17-50? used, it is a quarter of the price of a used 17-55DX. What will 4 times the price get me that the Tamron cannot offer.

4. Am i just barking up the wrong tree if im not earning a living off photography or am not a serious hobbyist? Are these 2.8's just meant to be used by pro's and people that are willing to pay for the best quality?

THANKS! :biggrin:

2. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Hello Jon,