1834 Oliver Filley House

Discussion in 'Landscapes, Architecture, and Cityscapes' started by A Risen Fury, Jul 16, 2008.

1. Took a little trip around the corner from my house, came up with a few of these pictures. C&C is welcomed :).

SunsetField.jpg

FilleyHouseII.jpg

OliverFilley.jpg

Stairway.jpg

2. Hi,

My first reaction on seeing these was what a shame that the house has been allowed to go to ruin!

So did a bit of research and found this:

http://www.bloomfieldcthistory.org/Our_Properties/Filley_House/filley_house.html

Would seem your local community has worked hard to get it where it is!

As to the pics of the house, for me they do not give a huge amount of interest. However, the colour and light is very good.

I do like the first picture and the way you have caught the sun.

I see what you are trying to do with the last one, but I am not experienced enough to give advice on how to achieve it. Hopefully some of the pros will be along soon to help.

Best regards

Chris

3. nice pictures
    and... chris... i appreciate that link, as well
    interesting place

i used to live in New Milford.... less than 50 miles to the west
    nice area

thanks for sharing

4. Yeah the outside is still not in the best condition but they've been working on it. They're trying to keep it very historically accurate on the outside which I can't imagine being an easy task. I've been there so many times and taken pictures so it's hard to come up with some new angles and ideas. Usually I get it from the otherside with the mowed grass. Thought I'd try something new and go through the tall fields and catch the sun setting on it but I didn't know it was downhill from there so I lost a lot of the house.

The first one I love, I thought it turned out better than I thought it would.