1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

200-400 or 300 2.8 ?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by gazthelob, Sep 20, 2008.

1. gazthelob

gazthelob

Sep 10, 2008
    England
    Hi, I am new to Nikon Cafe. I am saving like mad for a good quality telephoto lens. I have shortlisted the 300mm f/2.8 VR or the 200-400 f/4 VR.
    I like to shoot some sports, Wildlife and when I can afford it, visit Africa for safari. Iam favouring the 200-400. Is it a match optically to the 300? does it focus Fast? Any thoughts anyone.

2. My take on it, If you only can have one lens in the field, the 200-400 VR is my choice. The 200-400 hunts on the long end, doesn't match well with TCs and is only f/4. Besides that, it's a killer lens capable of some impressive shots. On a D2X/D300 it's a very versatile telephoto zoom. If using two bodies, a 500 f/4 and a 300 2.8 would be ideal.

3. Wileec

Wileec Guest

Another option, which provides a bit more speed and zoom. Get the 300mm f/2.8 plus the 1.4x TC. You don't have the flexibility of the zoom, but you have a fast 300 and a 420mm f/4 and it may be a tick sharper. Depending on which end you tend to shoot at more, that might be worth considering. If you think you will tend to stay at the long end of whatever you get, you should consider that as you aim to make a tough decision.

4. gazthelob

gazthelob

Sep 10, 2008
    England
    Hey, thanks for the comments. I was quite surprised to hear that the 200-400 hunts considering what this lens costs, surely this must be in very low light levels. Did also find on the internet where the zoom lens was slightly sharper at 400mm than the 300 with the 1.4 attached. Still along way to go with funds but thanks very much. Enjoying the web site.

5. Nikkor AIS

Nikkor AIS

Jun 5, 2008
    Alberta