200-400VR, Is it worth the money?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Kim, Oct 8, 2005.

1. Kim

Kim

Jun 16, 2005
    Tennessee
    Got quite a few good trips planned for the near future, including one to Sequioa National Park/Kings Canyon next week. I want a good lens that I can count on the help me get some keepers. I have my wide angle covered, my mid range covered, and now I need a long range. I'd like to be able to get some bird, bird in flight, and animal shots. I can see the difference in the quality of pictures between the 80-400VR and the 200-400VR. Enough to justify the price difference? The pictures I take will only be for me. I'm not a professional. I don't even post the pictures I take. But, if I do spend the money, I won't be taking food off the table or cutting into the house hold budget. Don't get me wrong, I will feel the pinch but maybe it will be worth it.(?) Because of everyones suggestions in the past, I've gotten and been happy with my 12-24mm and my 70-200VR. I'm hoping for some more good advice! Thanks in advance!

2. nfoto

nfoto Guest

A difficult one. Not only is the 200-400 a truly professional lens, it will also tax your gear (tripod, head) for stability and your own photographic skills for getting most out of it, plus you probably end up with purchasing a better tripod, better head, .... the list goes on if you take my point. If you haven't got a D2X, then you certainly will want to combine that camera with a 200-400 in due time :biggrin: