28-70 misbehaving

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Beezle, Sep 29, 2005.

1. I've been using a 28-70 for a couple of months now. Quite happy with it though a few problems:

- strong blue CA in images with bright blown out edges. Hasn't happened in a shot that mattered, so not a big deal. But I am surprised to see this. I have never seen this with the 17-55 or 70-200. Normal CA removal didn't seem to clean it up either.

- the focusing ring became really stiff yesterday in use. Not so stiff I thought I might break something turning it, but pretty darned stiff. I am a rather burly man, so it isn't a mild muscles thing. I left it be and AF worked fine. After a while I tried gently using it again and it resumed its normal amount of tightness and smoothness.

So far as I know, nothing drastic has happened to this lens. It was sent to me directly by Nikon, and it gets the normal treatment for such expensive things.

Has anyone else seen the latter? I'm not figuring on sending it in for that, but I wonder if it just needed breaking in or if it will end up needing servicing. These days I manually focus quite a bit (yay DK17M).

Thanks,

Ed

2. JeffKohn

JeffKohn

Apr 21, 2005
    Houston, TX
    I haven't seen much of this with the 28-70 (just finally got it back from Nikon Repair today), but I have seen it some with the 85 1.4. There was a discussion about this on DPR a while back, I believe somebody said it's actually spherical aberration, not CA. Unless we're talking about two different things. What I'm referring to only tended to show up along high-contrast transitions in out-of-focus areas.

3. Thanks for the reply. Here are a few examples of it:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

If you don't mind my asking, what as yours in for?

4. That seems like extremely severe CA. I dont think even my 70-300 ever exibited that much CA. I'd bet there's something wrong with the ED element. The ED element is there to eliminate this exact problem, isn't it?