300mm f/4 vs. 300mm f/2.8 VR

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by greyhound rick, Aug 8, 2008.

1. First off...if this question has been posted before, I sincerely apologize. Sometimes Im not very good at "searching".

OK, heres my situation.....

I shoot racing greyhounds 3-4 late afternoons/evenings per week. Im in decent shape with my 70-200mm f/2.8 VR and soon to purchase 85mm f/1.4 (for nights).

What I really need is a longer lens that can get me to 300mm during the late afternoon (sunlight will be pretty decent). Im sure I can get away with f4 and 300mm is a good length for some of the spots I shoot at the track.

Since I can get away with no VR due to using a monopod, tripod and fast shutter speeds, the question Id like you to answer is.......is there a difference (or much of one) between the image quality of a 300mm f/4 vs. the 300mm f/2.8 VR?

If there isnt....I can save quite a bit purchasing the 300mm f/4, but if there is a difference I would rather save a bit longer and get the 2.8 VR.

Please let me know what you think. I value your input!!

My best to you always and again, Im sorry if this has been discussed before.

take care,

Rick

2. Randy

Randy

May 11, 2006
    most of us go thru this exact dilema and many of us end up with the 2.8....
    what makes the problem harder is the 300/4 is a very good lens but what makes the problem easier is the 300/2.8 is quite possibly the best lens Nikon makes and is certainly the best 300 made by anyone. IMO the answer is YES, the 300/2.8 is alot better, noticeably better, noticeably faster focusing in all light, handles a TC like it's not there...save the 1k and put it towards the 4.5k and never look back

3. For the type of shooting you'll be doing you'll need the speed of the 300 2.8, I shoot mostly birds and my 300 f/4 serves me well, excellent lens! Welcome to the Cafe!

4. another great thread...
    the price difference is SUBSTANTIAL