3rd party Wide Angle Options for AF-S (CPU lenses)

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by KAEPhoto, Jun 15, 2007.

1. Forgive me if this has been addressed, but after 20 min of searching, I thought I'd post.

Does anyone know if there any 3rd party wide angle fixed or zoom (e.g. 12-24) lenses compatible with the Nikkor AF-S type lenses? I am just beginning to realize how limited the options are for us D40x owners.... I read good things about the Tamron 12-24, but it seems like it is incompatible with my camera body.

2. I'm assuming you mean Tokina 12-24 :) (since the Tamron is 11-18) but pretty much you're limited to either the Nikon 12-24 AF-S, the Sigma 10-20 HSM, or if you want to go all out though I don't see the point, 12-24 Sigma HSM that works on film as well (if you use film cameras that is, otherwise it's wasted money compared to the 10-20 Sigma)

Nikon is the winner hands down but the Sigma is half the price and a bit wider with pretty good performance as well, there are many reviews online comparing all 4 DSLR ultrawides if you want to read more.

I've owned the Sigma for 7 months and loved it. I have shot the Nikon and couldn't justify the price (yet). I currently have the Tokina 12-24 and it's awesome as well.

Since you have the D40x, pretty much back to my first paragraph: pretty much 10-20 Sigma or 12-24 Nikon :smile:

Good luck!

3. Dennyd80

Dennyd80 Guest

The Sigma 10-20 is an excellent wide zoom. Very sharp lens and half the price of the Nikon 12-24. The extra 2mm on the wide end of the sigma makes a big difference.

I use mine on a regular basis and love it.

4. yes, I meant the Tokina 12-24. Thanks for the helpful responses. I'll look into the Sigma 10-20. If a Sigma lens says HSM, does that mean it will work with the D40x? Just curious what compatible 3rd party lenses there might be out there.

5. Yes, HSM is Sigma's way of saying "Silent Wave Motor" or AF-S in Nikon terms without getting sued by Nikon.