40d --> D300 learning the lenses - advice please

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Fabrian, Jul 29, 2008.

1. Hi folks,

I'll be ordering a D300 specifically in about a week or so. I've owned many Canon lenses along with some 3rd party lenses on both the Canon 30D and 40D, so as an introduction - I have some pretty good experience under my belt.

I've been doing the usual research on the various lens options for Nikon - checking here and some thorough review sites. Now, although I'm ordering the D300, I will be starting out with a single lens for a short while until I can start to build. The D300 stays, so cost savings by using a different body are not an option.

What I want to start out with is primarily a standard wide zoom such as the 17-55 - BUT, I'm not after that since I'm looking to spend ~$500 on this lens. From what I've read for Nikkor, it seems that the 16-85 is a good choice. I'll take VR, although a constant aperture would be ideal. I would consider the Tamron 17-50, but I'd rather not. I had it for Canon and while it's optically very good, I'm after something a little more focus accurate - ie, silent wave, HSM etc. not gear driven.

I love fast primes, in which case I would consider the Sigma 30EX, but I'm leaning more towards a zoom at the present time. I may also consider a super-zoom like the Sigma 18-200, but the standard zoom would interest me first.

What can you recommend considering the previous info?

2. mikechang

mikechang

Jun 9, 2008
    San Diego
    Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 (also known as A16), just came out with a A16-N2, which has built in motor to it.... (Just like AF-S, HSM, etc...)

but i've heard bad things about this version of the lens.
    A16-N2 performs optically the same as A16, but not mechanically.
    It seems that the built-in motor isn't very silent, nor fast. (compare to AF-S)
    It also has a problem that the camera doesn't recognize the lens, so it shows error on the camera.