1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

500 F4 vs 300 F2.8 + 1.7 TC

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Sandro Bravo, Jul 15, 2008.

1. Sandro Bravo

Sandro Bravo

Nov 18, 2005
    Portugal
    As some of you know, i use a 500mm exclusively to shoot surf and it is an excellent companion…but I’m not a pro (though I shoot regularly for magazines, it’s still an hobby…), and I’ve been wondering if a 300 F2.8 and a 1.4 / 1.7 TC wouldn’t do the same job, leaving me with a more versatile option….easier to lug around and use for other applications.

I rarely use the 1.4 TC on the 500 and when I do, most times I don’t like the results…so 500mm FL is good enough for me….the 300 + 1.7 would get me there, on a lighter package and I’d still be able to benefit from 300mm at F2.8 when needed. This could also give me the extra cash for a D700 (which would be dandy for my other “adiction”… low light / shallow dof portraits) which would be even nicer…and most likely I’d ditch the D300, keeping the D2Hs and a D700….

The big question here is IQ / sharpness and AF speed ( the 2 main issues for me) on the 300 and 1.4 / 1.7 TC’s vs the 500mm….i rarely shoot F4, I used to, but now I’m mostly at F5.6 to F8 to get that extra sharpness / detail needed….i’d even get the 2xTC if it would have enough IQ at 600mm F8…

So, if any of you have used the 300mm + several TC’s combo, drop me a word and show me what kind of results it usually gets you.

2. Sandro, I shoot BIF and well...anything that moves for that matter. The 300 f2.8 VR takes
    the 1.4/1.7 very well. Really no drop off in IQ with either and the AF is surprisingly brisk
    with the 1.7. I shoot close to wide open but if you can stop down to f5.6-f8 I think you'd