500mm VR Going Back to Nikon

Real Name
Dan
Well I finally pulled the trigger on getting a big prime lens this spring. I've been having mixed success with it and assumed it was technique related and the natural learning curve. But about a month ago I took a bunch of static subjects across a field of grass stuble. My ratio of sharp shots was less than 50 percent. As I studied them I noticed that on all of the OOF shots the target was just beyond the DOF (clearly seen in the grass stuble). The shots that were acceptably sharp were just barely in the back end of the DOF. The problem was worse the farther away the subject.

These were all shot with my D800E. With all the noise about focus issues on the D800 I hoped no big deal, just need to tune the AF. I've got the FocusTune software and had mixed success with it. So I ordered Lensalign. Sure enough when I checked it out it needed a +8 adjustment. Problem solved. Went out for a shoot and every shot was tack sharp. So I decided to check out my D4 and D7100 bodies on the 500 and they needed +6 and +4 respectively. OK.

Went out for another shoot and put the 1.4x on the 500. Literally EVERY shot was a cull. Ok, back to the tuning with the extender this time. On all three bodies +20 is not enough to correct the problem.

So now that my interest was piqued/confidence was shaken, I decided to do some more testing. Tested all three bodies on 200-400VR and 300 f4. None of the three bodies needed any adjustment on either lens. OK, maybe the TC is bad (even though I've used it with good results for years). Tested the 7100 with 300f4/1.4x. Dead nuts.

So the only conclusion I can reach is that the 500VR needs work. I'm borrowing another 1.4x to test again but based on what I've already seen it looks to be a slim hope/waste of time.