70-200 f2.8 New vs. Used

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Mike126, Sep 9, 2008.

1. Mike126

Mike126

Aug 14, 2008
    Herndon, Va
    I'm looking to buy a 70-200 f2.8 in the next few months. (Still saving the pennies!) I was hoping to get some advice from the cafe. I have a few options that I'd like to get some feedback on. I'm not a pro so even though I don't need a top of the line lens I'd rather buy something that is good but it does not have to be the absolute best.

My shooting is normally nature (landscapes, waterfalls etc. not much wildlife) and kids sports (baseball, basketball mostly). I have a D80 so this is effectvely a 105-300. I also use a tripod or monopod regularly so VR is not so much a feature I need/want.

Options for the 70-200 F2.8:

1. New Sigma HSM II 70-200 - pros: new and with a warrantee, fairly fast AF. Cost around $800.

2. Used Nikon 70-200 F2.8 AF-D - pros: good glass and construction. May not be as fast as the HSM II but not sure. Cost used is around $600-700 depending on condition.

3. New Nikon 70-200 f2.8 AI-S VR - pros: a very nice lens. Faster and better than the Sigma. Cost new: around $1600. I don't see any used ones but I would guess they run around $1200.

So for the hobbiest, do I need the speed of the AI-S to shoot sports? Has anyone compared the AF on the Sigma HSM II to the Nikon AI-S? Is it significantly faster?

Thanks in advance for all the great advice!

2. Canadian market condition have the 70-200 2.8 @ 1668.00 new with a five year warranty. Most Kijiji/Craigs listers are asking on avg. 14-1500 used. Have seen some lower prices but these seem to be need the cash quick in your face people that aren't interested in shipping or waiting on a money order. I plan to buy new when the much talked about upgrade hits the shelves........

Cheers

Ted:smile:

3. Baywing

Baywing

Feb 22, 2005
    CT USA