1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Critique A couple of flowers.

Discussion in 'Black and White' started by gchappel, Apr 19, 2019.

1. It is raining out today. Stuck inside. Saw these flowers sitting on the kitchen table.
    You can find art anywhere- even my kitchen. Just do not try to find food there.
    10 minutes later-- these really look pretty good printed and hanging.
    I am pretty new to this macro/studio stuff so please let me know how I could get better.
    Thoughts?
    Gary

funeralflowerstack1bw.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Last edited: Apr 21, 2019
    • Like Like x 2
  2. The vase and the flowers look stunning. Love all the empty space around them.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. funeralflowerstack1bwhor.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
    Wife wanted a horizontal print, so another version.
    For some reason, I like this space.
    Gary

Last edited: Apr 21, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Agreed with Nick.
    Two beautifully created b&w images, Gary!
    I do prefer your first version though.
    The horizontal version has a bit too much space for me :) 

5. I'm going with #1....just minimal enough! This is a stunning wallhanger.

6. I love the technique and creativity of both versions. Well done!

In the second version, the background of the inset has a dark area in the lower right corner on my calibrated monitor that appears to be an accidental aberration.

The position of your camera displays the front of the vase's rim and the front of the top of the water. If you want to provide a more three-dimensional display, you could position the camera higher or lower to also display the rear of the rim and/or the water.

7. Thanks all.