A drive over Teton Pass

Discussion in 'Landscapes, Architecture, and Cityscapes' started by Terri French, May 15, 2005.

1. Terri French

Terri French

May 5, 2005
    Idaho
    We drove over the teton pass yesterday as I wanted to take a picture from there. The closer we got, the more cloudy it became. The shot was a challenge because of the snow and the shadows in the valley. I tried something new and converted two raw images--one for highlights and one for shadows and blended them in Photoshop using a layer mask. I have never done that before. Here is my result. Positive criticism is always appreciated--that is how I learn.

18-70mm lens at 50mm, f8, 1/250

View attachment 8899

2. Looks great! I'd be interested in trying something like myself.

3. Terri French

Terri French

May 5, 2005
    Idaho
  4. F15Todd

F15Todd

Feb 1, 2005
    Tennessee
    Terri I see lots of snow...please tell me I don't have to drive over those to get to Boise next month :?: :lol: :lol: :lol:

5. Terri French

Terri French

May 5, 2005
    Idaho
    Your biggest worry will probably be that Boise will be too hot!!! If you go to teton park this summer you might want to consider driving from Idaho Falls to Jackson Wyoming over the Teton Pass. It is quite spectacular and the roads are dry.

6. Very nice!! I love the wide open space and beautiful mountains in your first shot!! :D :D :D :D

7. Thanks for the tip Terri, the shadow and highlight masks are the way to go for some images. Beautiful part of the country you are sharing with us.

8. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Very Beautiful Terri,

You did an outstanding job.

Thank You for sharing the Beauty.

9. iunknown

iunknown

Mar 18, 2005
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Terri, the 1st one is a beauty.

10. jkamphof

jkamphof Guest

The blends worked very well!! I have barely touched on this in PS, but am keen to try.

Joel.

11. obelix

obelix

Mar 17, 2005
    Fremont, CA, USA