1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

A magazine wants one of my photos....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sam O, Jul 23, 2008.

1. Sam O

Sam O

Jul 24, 2007
    Toronto
    I'm new to this so suggestions from those with experience would be appreciated. An airline magazine from Asia has approached me about using one of my images on flickr. They're offering a small sum for each use "if approved" but they need a high rez version to get approval. I uploaded a full size image to my Zen folio site but with a watermark across it. The contact said they can't use it with the watermark because the client has high expectation, what ever that means. Obviously he wants a watermark free full size image.

What is industry practice for this situation? If he were to go to a stock site, I don't think he would have access to the images without buying first, correct? Suggestions?

2. I call BS! Don't give them anything hi-res without conpensation! Depending on usage you should charge them accordingly. I repeat, don't put anything hi-res up until you are paid! They can tell well enough with a low-res whether they like a shot or not.

3. DJVCuda

DJVCuda

Jun 13, 2008
    Atco, NJ
    I have to agree there - Unless you have a relationship w/ a particular mag.

4. Ditto. Don't do it.

5. Flyfishdk

Flyfishdk

Nov 1, 2006
    Denmark
    I agree to. I always send pics with watermark on to new clients. if they want the pics they pay and then recieve the pictures they will use... thats normal procedure in Denmark where I live.

6. vinman

vinman

Nov 15, 2006
    Upstate SC
    Yeah, if it's legit, they should be familiar with the way this works - watermarked image for approval, then contract to receive clean, high res.