A photographer's rights

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DBrim, Jun 17, 2007.

1. DBrim

DBrim

May 30, 2007
    Boston, MA
  2. Dugg (it got to #6 at the time)

It's disgusting what we are doing, or allowing to be done to this country in the name of (false ) security. Don't get me started. Any rent-a-cop thinks they are king cos they have a badge. Problem is they have not read the Constitution.

3. Huff09

Huff09

Feb 25, 2007
    Carmichael, CA
    Daniel,

Truly an unfortunate incident. I'm not sure I would have left based on what a parking attendant said, but I certainly understand your concerns.

That being said, I can tell you this. I sincerely doubt you would have been bothered in any way by the police. I'm a cop in my town and I can't think of any reason I would hassle someone taking photos of a public structure, unless there was some facts in play that don't seem to be present here (and while I can't speak for the Federal level, I know for certain I would find myself in front of a judge with a lot of explaining to do if I tried to hold someone indefinitely without cause).

I'm not sure how your local department operates, but I can tell you, at least in Sacramento, I have never even heard of a local agency messing with people based on The Patriot Act. At the very most, they might have just asked you a few questions and then left you alone (There does seem to be a different set of standards for overpasses however, but my experience is that this is due mainly to concern over drivers being distracted).