A question on insurance....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by olddogg, Jun 16, 2007.

1. Hi Everyone,
    I've been thinking lately about the fact that I have accumulated a lot of pretty expensive gear. No problem there; I like having it, and hope one day to get my skills in using it to a point that justifies my owning it. But it occurs to me that it really needs to be insured against theft or damage. I am not a pro photographer. I belong to no pro associations or anything of that nature. Homeowners insurance does not apply, as I am currently a fulltime RV'er. I own a house, but it is a rental for now.

Any suggestions as to how I might insure my kit given these factors?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 16, 2007
  2. Hi Jack,

Check out http://www.nanpa.org/insurance.html NANPA is the North American Nature Photography Association. The offer, through their membership, discounts with Chubb and Rand insurance companies. Even if you don't join NANPA, the links for Chubb and Rand should help.

Regards,

3. maybe check your vehicle (RV) insurance, it may cover stuff you carry with you....

4. Try www.groupinsure.com -- although they tend to insure gear for pros, they may be able to help you out. Great people to deal with and rates are reasonable.

5. Thanks guys. I will follow those links after a bit of sleep. Appreciate the help.

6. I have also been thinking about insuring my equipment. I have not actually researched the question, yet; however, here are a couple of other places that you might want to check.

Nikonians has arranged for an insurance package, for its members. You can check out the terms, premiums and insurer here:

http://www.niksecure.com/