A Tribute to the 18-55VR Kit Lens

I picked this up for $160 in unused condition (parted out from a D60 kit) and I've seen them for as low as $100 shipped (!!!). So if anyone was skeptical about this lens, take a look at some of these. Sorry 56k'ers but these are kinda big. You may have to click some to see full size.

01.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

A Perfect landscape lens.

02.jpg

Great for wide shots too

03.jpg

Perfect for Bikes... times two!

04.jpg

05.jpg

And kitties twice over.

06.jpg

07.jpg

Works nicely with a Canon 500D closeup lens

08.jpg

Chameleons too!

09.jpg

Might have been over at FM for $100 shipped. Not quite sure. There's one here for $100+ 15 shipping right now. Take a look on the For Sale forum when it becomes available for you. :smile:

Sonya - It's so lightweight... I barely notice it's there! Sure its not exactly built like my 300mm F4 or my D1X, but hey... for a walkaround lens, it's all you need.

I am just a beginner (once again after a loooong hiatus) so take my comment with that in mind. I love this lens (I have the non-VR version). Great image quality, sharp, light. I just returned from an anniversary trip to Africa. I loved the richness and sharpness of the photos I took with the lens. And I had no trouble without the VR. On the other hand, when I used the 70-300, I thanked Nikon for VR on more than a few of my shots!

I use my old workhorse 18-55 non-VR whenever I need a wide lens. Honestly, I think I've gotten some great results with it. I bought it to replace my 28-? (I don't remember) cheap lens, and I've been quite happy. However, having said that, I keep thinking about maybe replacing it with either the VR version or the Sigma 17-70, which a friend has and in my opinion is a wonderful lens. But, it's hard to justify the expense when the ol' Nikkor workhorse seems to do so well. It's a money issue right now.

Last edited by a moderator: