Action-Sports Shots - D3s or D4

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by sprdv1, Sep 7, 2017.

1. sprdv1

sprdv1

Oct 22, 2010
    Missouri
    Putting this out there to avoid hijacking other thread again :)

Randy, D3s sufficient and not worth the difference in your opinion?

Moving up from D7000 recently lost and I need to replace it in the next month or so.

Main uses:
    Capturing Family moments, events, grandbabies AND Following our Local HS Football team. Can't seem to break away from day to day activities to do other sports, but I may at some point. I am no expert by any means, even though have done the FB pics for a few years now. Advanced Hobbyist maybe. Of course Kids/Parents are always saying, Great Pics, but those who shoot much can see the suttle differences, out of focus, wrong focal point, etc.

Started w/D90, ended up with D7000 and currently renting a D7200. The action from the D7200 tells me I NEEDED to upgrade anyway. Also need to upgrade my 70-200 to the VII.

Would the D3s cover all my needs? I've seen them for $1,200 to $1,500 and just saw a couple D4s in the $1,800 - $2k Range. Not worth paying a little extra for a good used D4?

Thanks,

Dave~!

2. photogramps

photogramps

May 6, 2012
    uk
    Roger
    D4 gives you slightly more pixels, faster card (XQD) and buffer but for most people the difference isn't worth it ... D4S is a different beast but is more costly again.

3. sprdv1

sprdv1

Oct 22, 2010
    Missouri
    TU...
    yes sir, I noticed that jump by a grand or so depending on quality.. for the D4s at least. D4s I think is out of my range probably..

4. the d3s is good at ISO 6400,

5. I'd get a D4. More future proof for repairs. My low mileage D3S shutter broke making for a costly fix. I'd rather spend a little extra for a newer body.

Last edited: Sep 8, 2017
  6. sprdv1

sprdv1

Oct 22, 2010
    Missouri
    Thanks guys.. Your opinions highly valued.

7. 73Z1

73Z1

Sep 15, 2008
    Sacramento