Advice needed: D2HS or D2X?

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by Nikam, May 24, 2005.

1. I'm going to order my first DSLR. I want the fast focus and speed of either the D2HS or D2X. I am currently shooting with a Coolpix 4500 - so this is going to be a big step up both in terms of investment and cost. This is a hobby for me. I'm definitely not a professional photographer, however, I am a professional engineer and appreciate the use of the correct tool to get the job done right. I like to shoot nature in all its forms - wildlife, macro and landscape.

I have been saving for quite a while and $ wise I am prepared to purchase one of the following 'starter kits' for now (I'm sure lens lust will set in as time goes by :) :) ):

Option A: D2X, 17-55, 70-200VR, TC1.7EII, SB800

Option B: D2HS, 17-55, 70-200VR, TC1.7EII, SB800, 60 Micro and either the 12-24 or a 300f4

I'm a little concerned that the D2X might be a bit too much camera for me as I've read some posts that state that it requires quite a bit more care because of the closeness of the 'pixels' on the sensor array. On the other hand the ability to crop wildlife shots would be a big plus and the landscape shots would certainly benefit. What to do? :?: what to do :?: :?: You're opinions very much appreciated.

2. Either option is going to provide excellent results.
    Option A has the advantage of changing capture size
    to HSC mode effectively giving you a D2H and a D2x
    all in one camera body.
    Option B does give you more lenses but are you going
    to want the resolution of the X six months from now and
    end up selling the H?

3. heiko

heiko

May 15, 2005
    Israel
    Dear Nikam,

A year ago I moved to my first DSLR and bought the D70 upon a recommendation and much Internet reading and comparing pictures. There is little I can complain about my choice, and much to be said for getting this camera.