Alcatraz Island and Koit Tower

Discussion in 'Landscapes, Architecture, and Cityscapes' started by lr0868, Aug 23, 2008.

1. lr0868

lr0868

May 25, 2008
    henderson, nv
    haha mispelled Coit Tower

I was out and about today and took these pics. Any feedback is appreciated. I have only done a few HDR's so I am new to them so let me know if you think this is too dark or if it is off in anyway.

Both taken with the 70-300VR

thanks for looking

DSC_1530_2_32.

a skyline with Koit Tower and the Transamerica Building

DSC_16592.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 30, 2008
  2. lr0868

lr0868

May 25, 2008
    henderson, nv
    glad I clicked that little yellow thing , one week 60 views no feedback:rolleyes: 

though I guess that is my feedback..it is not good enough to warrant feedback.

3. JusPlainCrayzee

JusPlainCrayzee Administrator Administrator

Actually, I never did see this - sorry!! Glad you wrote something, otherwise I would have missed your photos altogether.

I do like the Alcatraz shot. The way composed the photo makes it seem very foreboding and rather creepy looking. I also like the skyline shot - I wish, however, that it could be a bit larger.

Both shots are quite clear, but I do have to warn you - I'm not a huge fan of HDR, so for me, I think I would have preferred the Alcatraz shot without that particular technique. If you HDR'd the skyline photo, I can't tell, and for me, that's great.

Overall - wonderful job. I'll try to be more diligent when check out everyone's thread...!:smile:

4. lr0868

lr0868

May 25, 2008
    henderson, nv
    thanks lyndee

I did want the alcatraz shot to be foreboding and kind of old looking so I guess that worked, I am going to try another shot and make it a bit lighter and play with it a bit to see what I get as well.

the skyline i was pretty far away so that is why it is small, again another shot I plan to get a better or closer shot of.

thank you for the feedback :)