1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Allow me to ramble

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR Forum' started by HydraShok, Sep 22, 2008.

1. HydraShok

HydraShok

Sep 20, 2008
    Minnesota
    Hey all,

I am fairly new to DSLRs but I am a very fast learner. My sister has a XTI and my wife really liked it. We went to Big Box Store and looked at the XSI, 40d, D40 and D80. She has smaller hands than I do and she ended up choosing the D40. We have 4k on the shutter in less than a month and I really like the ergos of the Nikon line vs the Canon line.

I bought my wife a SB-400, a 55-200mmVR (which she keeps on the D40 all the time), a crumpler 6 mil bag, the IR remote, etc.

Now I want my own body. I would like a bit more grip and also more dedicated buttons and a top lcd but I am having difficulty arriving at which one is for me. I will not rehash the specs of the cameras I am interested in as you guys probably know them off hand even better than I do.

I have played with the D80 and the D300. Ergonomically I really liked the way the D300 felt in my hands, I also liked the D80 but to a lesser extent as far as comfort and ease of use goes.

I found a D80 body on a walmart.com for $600, for the time being I can use my wife's kit lens from the D40. I figure I can buy it there and if it doesn't meet my needs I can go to something else.

I took a long time to come to this decision. I really wanted a D300 but the $1k difference between it and the D80 could go towards better glass. Then as time goes on I can pick up a D300 down the road when it is more reasonable.

These decisions are always tough for me, trying to weigh all the pros and cons. I suspect that I will like the d80 just fine, and I will not take it back. I wish I had not tried the D300 (that is such a nice body!)