Alternative to "The Beast"??

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by barriosa, Jun 17, 2007.

1. I’m looking for an alternative to “The Beast”. I think I need something with just a little more range than my 17-55 f/2.8 for wedding photography and I want to get something less than a grand. That puts The Beast and the 70-200 out of my range, so I’m looking for a good alternative.

1. Anyone have any experience with any of the 28-70 f/2.8 lenses from Tamron, Tokin or Sigma?
    2. If The Beast is a perfect 10 lens how would you rate yours?

2. You may want to check out the Nikkor 35-70 f2.8. A very nice lens.

3. Kerry Pierce

Kerry Pierce

Jan 7, 2006
    Detroit
    I have no experience with the 3rd party lenses of that range, but I own both the 35-70 f/2.8d and 28-70. Near as I can tell, the optics of the 35-70 are just as good as the 28-70. The 35-70 is a lens I will not part with. :smile:

4. A friend of mine swears by the Tamron 28-75 . . .

. . . and he also has the Nikkor 28-70. He bought the 28-75 for his son as a cheaper alternative to the 28-70 and was surprised by the IQ so much he tested them head to head. He found images almost indistinguishable between the two, with the 28-70 being sharper at the wide end and the Tamron sharper at the long end.

That said, there are many reports of sample variation with this lens. Lot's of folks have bought two or more of them or sent one in for tune-up by Tamron before ending up with a sharp one.

I've never heard of anyone that got a 28-70 lemon new, FWIW.

Greg

5. CAJames

CAJames

Sep 6, 2006
    Lompoc, CA
    Do you need f/2.8? If not the 24-85 AF-S G is a great lens and somewhat under appreciated so they are very reasonably priced used.

6. aldirtfarmer

aldirtfarmer

May 2, 2006
    Aiken, SC
    Fred,