Another noob D300s question

Joined
Feb 20, 2011
Messages
3,853
Location
New Zealand
Sorry about all the newbie questions that were probably answered long ago!

How come sometimes the shutter speed just shows "Lo"? Why doesn't it show the actual speed, wouldn't that be more useful?
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
4,047
Location
UK
It says Lo because the light is too Low to make a speed reading, if the camera is able to give a numerical value it will do so.

Conversly if there's too much light it will say Hi, because the light value is too High.

Hope this makes sense!
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2011
Messages
3,853
Location
New Zealand
But I swear I took a pic when it said lo, and it was 1/3s. It can display that alright.

Or maybe I was dreaming, not sure. Thanks.
 

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
13,324
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
It isn't that the speed can't be displayed, often it can.

It is deliberately not showing you the speed because there isn't enough light to make a reading, as it says in message 2 above.

In other words the light meter in the camera only works across a specified range of brightness. See the manual...
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2011
Messages
3,853
Location
New Zealand
But I have tried it again, took a (from memory) shot when it said Lo and it turns out to be a 1" shot, it was exposed fine. It would be more useful to me that it show 1" rather than Lo.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,113
Location
Miami, Florida, USA.
Sorry about all the newbie questions that were probably answered long ago!

How come sometimes the shutter speed just shows "Lo"? Why doesn't it show the actual speed, wouldn't that be more useful?

Have you discussed this issue with Nikon? I do not believe we are going to be able to help you on this one. The camera meter, as has been said, has a certain range and the info in the viewfinder will show LOW just to warn the operator that a low shutter speed will require some firm support to take the picture or the use of flash. Nobody here can tell you why Nikon decided to use LOW instead of the actual low shutter speed.
Read the instructions manual, it is all there and now that you know what LOW means, steady that camera on a tripod and keep on shooting.

William Rodriguez
Miami, Florida.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
300
Location
Ontario
It says Lo because the light is too Low to make a speed reading, if the camera is able to give a numerical value it will do so.

Conversly if there's too much light it will say Hi, because the light value is too High.

Hope this makes sense!

I thought my D200 was just being friendly!

'Lo!

Hi!

:biggrin:
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom