Any GIMP Users here?

Looking at the subscription based pricing of adobe products I started learning GIMP. I am following Davis Media design tutorial on Udemy. Is there any other resource on learning GIMP?

I am honestly struggling with focus and exposure stacking because no matter what I do, my end result has halo in it.

also, most online photography courses only tech photoshop based post processing techniques. is there a teacher who includes GIMP in their workflow?

GIMP doesn't do focus stacking, does it? Maybe 2.8 does, but I stuck with 2.6. Exposure hacking, or HDR,... haloing is a natural by-product of the process. There's other apps that do both, and HDR better than GIMP.

Butlerkid

Cafe Ambassador
Real Name
Karen

I am honestly struggling with focus and exposure stacking because no matter what I do, my end result has halo in it.
Focus and exposure need to be done IN CAMERA. You need to master basic photographic principles before worrying about software. IMHO...................

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Yes and after taking multiple pictures which have focus on different things you can combine them for stunning effects. just today I saw a macro where someone focussed on watch parts using a Marco lens and then combined multiples images into a stunning picture of a watch.

I think that gears macro was on this site but now I can't find it... otherwise I would have posted it here.

No now I cannot find it anywhere. it was a set of watch gears laid in a circle and then the photographer shot them in focus individually and then created a merged image.

Focus stacking involves two processes.