Any good programs like Picasa for Mac?

Discussion in 'Apple/Mac' started by ubetcha, Mar 29, 2007.

1. ubetcha

ubetcha

Nov 12, 2006
    San Diego, Ca
    Do you know of any good picture viewing/sorting programs like Picasa photo that will run on my new Mac?

2. Aperture is very good. iPhoto came with it and does a great job too.

3. Mediapro from iView, er, I mean Microsoft now. By "like Picasa" do you mean 'free', or the features it gives you? :smile:

4. ubetcha

ubetcha

Nov 12, 2006
    San Diego, Ca
    LBM, thanks for the link. I'll check it out. Free would be nice. But I really want something I can preview large numbers of photos, creat folders, batch rename photos, batch rotate photos, batch discard unwanted pictures and generally organize and store pictures. I'm new to Mac and have been using Photo Base 4.0 in the PC format for a long time but they don't make a version that will run on Mac. I know that there are probably better programs out there than Photo Base but I'm very comfortable with it. I don't like iPhoto.

Edit: just checked Mediapro...seems like overkill for my needs... just want something simple. If you get a chance check Photo Base http://www.arcsoft.com/products/photobase/ it's $39.99 and does a lot for thr dough. Especially if you use PS as you photo editor.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 29, 2007
  5. ubetcha

ubetcha

Nov 12, 2006
    San Diego, Ca
  6. Curious what you don't like about iPhoto.

Fastest app so far as loading thumbs and general use goes: Photo Mechanic.

Graphic Converter is nice, but pokey slow.

7. ubetcha

ubetcha

Nov 12, 2006
    San Diego, Ca