Any more info on CAM 1000 in the D200?

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by Jonathan F/2, Nov 1, 2005.

1. I'm most interested on how well CAM 1000 performs. If it's similar to CAM 1300 on the D1X, I can live with that (because CAM 1300 is fairly good). Low-light focusing is my bread and butter. I'm just wondering if there is any additional info going in-depth with the focusing? I don't just want an improved CAM 900, I want real pro-body focusing! I'm already spoiled by my D2H's low-light focusing, so I have high expectations with this new camera!

Honestly, if it isn't very good, I'll have to cash out and get a D2X! Darn it! :confused: :tongue: :redface:

2. Jon,

Although I have no knowledge of the CAM 1000, this is an area that concerns me because there is a "focus assist" lamp on the D200. Not trying to jump to conclusions but this sounds like bad news to me if you are hoping for low light focusing like the D2h or x. This looks like a wait-and-see issue at best.

Woody

3. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    I sure hope you are wrong jonathan

I will have to go cannon or D2H

4. obelix

obelix

Mar 17, 2005
    Fremont, CA, USA
    Gale

The low end canons are not all the great in low light focusing. I have a feeling D200 won't be all that top of line for low light, given the low number of sensors that make up the focusing system.

We will know soon :)

5. That's what my concern too. Besides the sensors, I think there're also AF algorithms and one must wait and see how the whole thing performs.

Like Jonathan F/2, if the D200 AF doesn't fulfill my expectations, I will take the plunge for a D2X. Hopes that its price will drop next year.

6. JeffKohn

JeffKohn

Apr 21, 2005
    Houston, TX