Anyone own a 600/4 AFS Series II lens?

Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
365
Location
Miami, Florida
I'm trying to get in touch with anyone who owns a 600mm f/4 AFS II lens (AFS Series II) lens. I believe that Nikon has a bug in the Z6 firmware, and the only way to tell for certain if the bug is in the firmware is to find someone else with the same lens.

If you have one, please PM me. Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
5,671
Location
Chicago "burbs"
I'm trying to get in touch with anyone who owns a 600mm f/4 AFS II lens (AFS Series II) lens. I believe that Nikon has a bug in the Z6 firmware, and the only way to tell for certain if the bug is in the firmware is to find someone else with the same lens.

If you have one, please PM me. Thanks.
I've never tried this but can you load the previous firmware and see if the lens works?
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,090
Location
Nebraska
I have one, and my son in law has a z6 with adaptor. I've never tried his camera on my lens though.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
15,311
Location
Los Angeles, USA
I'm trying to get in touch with anyone who owns a 600mm f/4 AFS II lens (AFS Series II) lens. I believe that Nikon has a bug in the Z6 firmware, and the only way to tell for certain if the bug is in the firmware is to find someone else with the same lens.

If you have one, please PM me. Thanks.
Why don't you try calling a place like Lens Rentals? With the large amount of rental gear they have, perhaps they can be of service. Plus it might drive traffic to their site if they do post such a firmware bug on their blog. ;)
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
365
Location
Miami, Florida
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #6
Why don't you try calling a place like Lens Rentals? With the large amount of rental gear they have, perhaps they can be of service. Plus it might drive traffic to their site if they do post such a firmware bug on their blog. ;)
I tried calling Roberts’ Camera. They move a great deal of big glass on a regular basis. Unfortunately, the last of these particular lenses moved about 6 months ago, and they don’t have any at the moment.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,090
Location
Nebraska
I will try to get ahold of him today. I know they are traveling this weekend to Wyoming and will not return till Thursday of next week, but I don't think they leave until tomorrow(Saturday). Is that the issue? It will not recognize your lens?

My 600mm is the 600mm f/4 AFS II with no VR.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
365
Location
Miami, Florida
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #8
I will try to get ahold of him today. I know they are traveling this weekend to Wyoming and will not return till Thursday of next week, but I don't think they leave until tomorrow(Saturday). Is that the issue? It will not recognize your lens?

My 600mm is the 600mm f/4 AFS II with no VR.
That's the one. The second AFS series Nikon made, and prior to VR. Yours looks like this one, correct?
http://www.photosynthesis.co.nz/nikon/afs6004ii.jpg

The issue is not so much one of recognition as it is understanding what the minimum aperture is. The lens communicates with the camera, and the camera is able to focus the lens. However, the LCD display on the top of the camera shows an fEE error, and the viewfinder displays a message about setting the lens to the minimum aperture (even though the lens is already set to, and locked on, the minimum aperture).

My theory is that Nikon somehow screwed up the firmware so that the camera thinks the minimum aperture on the 600 is smaller than f/22.

Nikon does not want to consider the possibility that it may have an error in the firmware, and insists it must be a problem with the cpu chip in my lens (even though the lens is understood by all of my other D bodies, e.g., D4s, D4, Df, D800).

I'd appreciate hearing what happens when you connect your lens to the FTZ adapter and the Z6. Please also let me know whether the version of the firmware loaded in the Z6. That information may help me convince Nikon where the real problem is.

Thank you in advance for your help with this.

Regards,
--Sam
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,090
Location
Nebraska
I put the Z6 on the 600mm lens and everything worked.

I moved the aperture all the way from f/4 - f/22 in M mode with the thumb and forefinger dials and it worked both on the Z6 top lcd and the rear screen. AF worked throughout as well. I also moved the actual lens aperture ring off of lock and it went to fEE.

He purchased the Z6 in December and has not updated the firmware. I didn't have time to look up the firmware version as they were anxious to get on the road trip. My daughter will look up firmware version as they travel and will report back to me.

They will return Friday and I can do more specific tests and conform the firmware number.


Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,090
Location
Nebraska
Sure thing, now the only issue is my son in law wants to borrow my 600 and I now want to add a Z6 to my bag...
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom