Aperture 1.5.3

Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
461
Location
Houston
From the Aperture dev mailing list...

"Aperture 1.5.3 is available via Software Update. In addition to other
bugs, it fixes the problem with the "xxxx with Counter" naming
presets not actually counting."
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
1,814
Location
Sanford, FL
Real Name
William Beem
Got it here. At least it didn't blow up the first time I started Aperture.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
224
It fixed some interesting issues that I was having. Fullscreen was slower than syrup on a winter day, and now it is actually usable. Also Aperture would just crash out of the blue when working with a large project, now that seems to be gone also.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
300
Location
Columbia, MO
I noticed the fullscren mode was MUCH faster on my Macbook Pro.
Everything seems so much snappier.
I just wish we could export to an external editor in .jpeg.
I use CS3 as my external editor and I like to start out in Camera Raw. And in order to do that I have to have my files in RAW or .jpeg. Aperture only lets me export with .psd or .tif
Anyone know a solution?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
6,183
Location
Beautiful Missouri Ozarks
Is there a particular reason you do not wish to export PSD to CS3?

One way would be to export the RAW file to a folder and then open using Camera Raw? You do then lose the opportunity to move it back to Aperture I believe, unless you import it.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
300
Location
Columbia, MO
i have no problem using PSD, its just that I would like to be able to open it immediately in Camera RAW. Is there a way to set CS3 to open all PSDs in Camera Raw first.
I know how to do it with JPEGs and RAWs, but anytime I open a PSD it goes straight into the normal program instead of through Camera Raw first.
 

Jez

Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
706
Location
UK
Hi Blake,

I'm not I understand why you want to take a file through Apple's RAW developer into Adobe's RAW developer and then into Photoshop. Can you explain the benefits of this?

:confused:
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
300
Location
Columbia, MO
i like how adobe camera raw has more options, such as vibrance, recovery, vignetting, etc...

but i like keeping everything in aperture for the organization
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
300
Location
Columbia, MO
i wish lightroom supported dual monitors....
hopefully since both of these products are in their first iteration, they will steal stuff from eachother
I hope Apple somehow finds a way to make Aperture less RAM hungry like lightroom is.
My ideal Aperture 2.0 would steal tons of stuff from Lightroom
I think Aperture 2.0 will bring some great features, as Aperture is still a "new" program and Apple seems to really listen to it's customers. Im not ready to jump ship yet.
Id be surprised if Apple doesnt offer a more smooth integration with Photoshop CS3 with Aperture 2.0
I think they were just waiting for an intel native version of the creative suite before they started integrating their own software with it.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
6,183
Location
Beautiful Missouri Ozarks
i like how adobe camera raw has more options, such as vibrance, recovery, vignetting, etc...

but i like keeping everything in aperture for the organization
I believe that Aperture can do these, just by another name, with the exception of vignetting. Have you tried highlights and shadows for recovery? Saturation by color for vibrance (maybe along with contrast)?
 

Jez

Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
706
Location
UK
I'm not sure how much smoother it can get - I can "develop" my photo in Aperture then pass it out to PS for final adjustments and save it back in as a new version with all layers intact.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom