Aperture sharpening

Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
3,045
Location
Green Bay, WI
I have really tried to settle in on Aperture as my preferred PP tool.

I shoot all raw and primarily adjust levels, shadows, sharpening and crop and then export versions depending on what I am trying to do. I am struggling to understand several things within the program and am very much a newbie to it.

One thing that I noticed was the lack of sharpening the Aperture program applies versus my standard technique in PS. Is there a secondary sharpening tool or technique within Aperture that I am missing? Any guidance here?

EXAMPLE: Here is a shot I posted using aperture & its web page exporter. ....and than below it a tighter crop I did in PS CS2 and my normal sharpening techniques.

Direct from Aperture:
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Cropped and processed in PSCS2
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
4,638
Location
Orlando, FL
Are you uing the edge sharpening tool in Aperture? It does not display by default. Ctrl-S will bring it up at the bottom of the Adjustments Inspector panel.
 

Jez

Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
706
Location
UK
Are you uing the edge sharpening tool in Aperture? It does not display by default. Ctrl-S will bring it up at the bottom of the Adjustments Inspector panel.
And this doc will go some way to explaining what it's all about....
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
3,045
Location
Green Bay, WI
Perfect answers....I was not using the secondary sharpening tool. Thanks to both of you! Lots to learn in this program....here is the version through Aperture instead:

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Jez

Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
706
Location
UK
Looking good Randy!

I'm getting more and more done in Aperture which means I'm not using up so much disk space with PS versions.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
3,045
Location
Green Bay, WI
I have no idea what I am doing with the software yet. But the capabilities are growing on me. It is not as intuitive as I had hoped, but I think it will be worth the effort to learn. Thanks again to both of you for stepping and helping.....I appreciate that.
 

Jez

Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
706
Location
UK
I have no idea what I am doing with the software yet. But the capabilities are growing on me. It is not as intuitive as I had hoped, but I think it will be worth the effort to learn. Thanks again to both of you for stepping and helping.....I appreciate that.
Oh I don't know - looks like you're doing just fine!

If you fancy getting your hands a little dirty, you could try this idea for setting your default list of tools.
 
Once I began to get the hang of Aperture I began using it almost exclusively for my image post-processing. Once in a while I still need to do something additional in Photoshop, but I don't use it nearly as often as I once did. I haven't gotten around to upgrading to CS3 because of that, although of course I will at some point fairly soon.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
1,814
Location
Sanford, FL
Real Name
William Beem
Same here. I'm learning Aperture in bits and pieces. I also just found the differences between Sharpen, Sharpening, and Edge Sharpening in Aperture a few weeks ago. What a difference it makes.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom