Applauding the Tamaqua (Pennsylvania) Area School District

For once, someone did the right thing. The TASD was under strict orders to not let this guy infringe on the rights of the paid, professional, and contracted photographers at their 2014 graduation ceremonies. As we all know, freebies, like this guy gives away, hurt the professionals whom are trying to maintain a business and feed their families.

Of course he is upset and offended. And of course the community is as well. Now I don't do professional work anymore as I simply don't have the time being that I'm a full time truck driver, but I'm so glad that some folks "get it", and realize that for some, photography is a business and a career, not a hobby.

Here is a link to the story:
http://tamaquaarea.wordpress.com/20...-my-free-complete-coverage-of-the-graduation/

Here is my response to all the Facebook complainers:
You ALL have it wrong. Those people whom are professionals (and who likely have contracts or other agreements) are trying to run a business and provide an income for their families through photography, which happens to be a CAREER and a BUSINESS. When someone comes in and gives away free, "professional" photographs, they are taking money away from their business, and their families. For that, I agree with Tamaqua limiting photographers on the field/stage to the working professionals. How would you all like it if you ran a business, and I came in, set up shop on the sidewalk, and gave away for free what you were trying to sell? Would you be happy if I took away 50 percent of your business by giving away your product?

At the same time, how is giving something away for free different than undercutting your competition with a 50% off sale? I give away computer advice and service all the time. Am I hurting the computer repair industry as a whole or am I simply helping out a few people that can't afford a new computer?

Does it hurt photography as a profession? Sure