Arches National Park HDR

I was going through some photos I took on a trip through Utah in March this year and saw that I'd taken a hand-held 5-shot sequence. I've never done HDR before so I just tossed the photos into Nik HDR Efex Pro 2 and made a few adjustments. The contrast was terrible that day and now I wish I'd taken more HDR sequences just so I could have had something more but I suppose one shot is better than none. I may play around with HDR some more in the future but it seems sort of gimmicky to me for some reason...perhaps it's the crazy overdone photos on Instagram.

9176989217_95cf7edcd3_b.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Tower of Babel by logicaldistortion, on Flickr

we were at arches and canyonlands the past few days as well. with the heat, sun, and smoke from nearby fires it was tough conditions for photos. tried to get out for sunset shots each night and it never worked out.

Great example of hdr done right.. I'm guilty of over cooking them myself.

we were at arches and canyonlands the past few days as well. with the heat, sun, and smoke from nearby fires it was tough conditions for photos. tried to get out for sunset shots each night and it never worked out.

I think Arches is by its very nature just a tough place to photograph. There are so many formations that demand just the right timing that you'd need to spend several days there to cover just a few of the highlights. I'm sure the fires didn't help matters any for you!

Nice one! You may want to try 32 bit HDR in Photoshop CS6, delivers nice natural looking results.

West coast of FL (formerly Westchester County, NY)
Please don't take this wrong, but I have an opposite reaction to the comments on that photo. While I might not call it "overcooked", I do think that it is just unnatural. I have almost no hands on experience with HDR, but I have come to appreciate the technique when not "overcooked" as you say.