Arches National Park

Discussion in 'Landscapes, Architecture, and Cityscapes' started by Terri French, May 23, 2005.

1. Terri French

Terri French

May 5, 2005
    Idaho
    Just returned from a very fun four day trip to Moab, Utah. I took over 500 pictures. The weather was sunny and hot. Here are a few from the first day. All taken with D70 and kit lens.

All were taken in RAW. As I am fairly new to this, I love comments on my technique or post processing. You are all helping me learn a great deal.

2. F15Todd

F15Todd

Feb 1, 2005
    Tennessee
    Terri those are wonderful shots. Looks like you had a great trip.

3. JeffKohn

JeffKohn

Apr 21, 2005
    Houston, TX
    These are really nice. I especially like the third one, very striking composition. It has a strong center of interest, and the shadowed forground gives the image a sense of depth and a more "layered" look.

4. I love the deserts of the American West, these pictures make me want to go back yet again. :D
    I love the pictures, my only comment is that some are perhaps a little bit oversharpened, it might be worth playing with the amount of sharpening and see the effect of varying it, did you use unsharp mask?

5. Then again I realise I had my outdoor spec on and was peering over the rims with my nose up against the screen - things look much better through my reading specs :lol: (I am very very short sighted!!)

6. Did you use polarizer ?

Those are great. Did you use Matrix or Spot metering. You handled the sky/land exposure wonderfully.

7. Nice series Terri, really like the composition in how you put these together, you put some thought into it and it shows. Well done!

8. Terri French

Terri French

May 5, 2005
    Idaho
    We did have a great trip. Maybe next spring when you live in Boise you can visit some of sites of the southwest. It is am amazing area.

9. hans

hans

Feb 5, 2005
    The Netherlands
    I think the second is great,good comp.

10. Terri French

Terri French

May 5, 2005