Art History Brush Tutorial

Discussion in 'Retouching and Post Processing' started by MGlennn, Dec 6, 2005.

1. _________________________________________________________________________________________

Now available in Tutiki:

[tutiki]Art_History_Brush_Tutorial[/tutiki]

Comments or Questions to this tutorial are always welcome, please feel free to post them here.

_________________________________________________________________________________________​

OK...first of all, two weeks ago I didn't know what the art history brush was. So..........why should I do a tutorial..???? :rolleyes: Good question....

I am thinking that as a beginner I may approach this in a way that other beginners might find more useful than a tutorial by someone who actually knows what they are doing...:wink:

So here goes....a beginners approach to the art history brush (AHB)...

Original below....this is the photo of an orchid that we are going to try to turn into a painting...

47342071-L.

Next you have a choice...you can either open a photo that has been sized, cropped and converted to 8-bit already....or.....you can just convert "this" photo to 8-bit as is shown below....go into the image>mode box and select 8-bit...

47342084-L.

Next you want to set the "state" for the AHB....this means tell the AHB what to try to imitate....to do this we will click on the snapshot icon as illustrated below.....

47342109-L.

Below shows what it looks like after clicking the snapshot icon...VERY IMPORTANT...click in the box next to "snapshot 1"....a little brush will appear telling you that you have set the "state" for the AHB...

47342077-L.

Now we need a new layer....

47342088-L.

This shows what it should look like so far...after the new layer (empty)

[​IMG]