Artistic choices for a bird picture???

Discussion in 'Birds' started by Uncle Frank, Jun 28, 2005.

1. I've submitted a few of my hummer pics for critique on photosig.com, and there's quite a division of opinion on suitable backgrounds. Some prefer a plain background, while others are strongly in favor of a natural/colorful, presentation. Here's two samples. What's your preference?

original.
    View attachment 11236

2. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Frank,

I'm a novice shooter, but I prefer the second because of the bokeh rather than the muted background of the first. There is nothing wrong with either image...both are truly beautiful, but I appreciate the different hues offered in the second image. Some may say that the multi-colored background of image #2 takes away from the bird which is the feature of the image, I guess they can have their opinions. :roll:

3. JeffKohn

JeffKohn

Apr 21, 2005
    Houston, TX
    I think if you can get a background that enhances the composition as you did in the second shot, that's ideal. But I also think that a muted background such as in the first shot would be preferable to a background that for whatever reason was distracting (harsh lines, wrong colors, etc). So I think both approaches have their place.

4. Flew

Flew

Jan 25, 2005
    Alabama
    Frank,

I like them both, but agree with Jeff and Frank that where you have a nice background, it is preferable to show it.

Nice shots BTW. :wink:

5. I knew what you were going to say, Frank, because we always think alike.

Watch out, though. That might get you into trouble, too :twisted:.

6. Flew

Flew

Jan 25, 2005
    Alabama
    I just goes to show that you are a very smart guy, with excellent taste and judgement. 8)

7. Frank I asked my sister the artist to have a look at both, she prefer the first one she says in the first one the colors of the bird really stand out better. But she likes both.