AT&T U-verse

Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
1,005
Location
STL
does anyone have this for television

it looks pretty sweet and is cheaper than Charter in my area (not to mention that charter kind of stinks)

I was thinking about switching and just wondering if anyone has any opinions on it

good or bad, please let me know

wouldnt mind hearing about their internet service either since I'd need both
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
3,003
Location
San Jose Ca.
My neighbor has it. he seems happy with it, comming from comcast.

I am pretty sure I am going to switch to it. I like the speed of the internet service. The dvr package and HD
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
610
Location
*********
They are installing the jucntion boxes locally now. They have ticked off quite a few home owners with where they are installin them.
 

fks

Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
2,756
Location
sf bay area
hi leighton-

i've had uverse for several months. switched from comcast for cable and at&t for dsl. no problems with the DSL, but the video has a few issues:

1. quality in HD isn't as good as cable. there's visible pixellation if there's lots of motion (sports) and large areas of color show coarse gradients
2. as of now, you can only watch 2 HD channels at a time. that's up from one a month ago
3. you can only watch and/or record a total of four different channels. we have four tv's in the house, and if they're all on different channels, you can't record another.
4. the DVR only works on the tv that has the DVR box.

i'm sticking with them though because of the lower price for the entire package and the added channels (bbc, scifi, speed).

ricky
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
1,005
Location
STL
thanks for the input everyone

I am a 1 TV household and I dont have PIP, so the 4 shows at once would definitely be enough (it would only be relevant for DVR purposes)

I am just wondering if it would be worth the PITA of switching companies just to save about $15/month

ricky - I am very concerned about that pixellation thing...have you heard that from other users? what type of TV are you on? I have 50" DLP, I wonder if I"d have the same problem??

Mike - I do have a question...Im for sure switching to AT&T wireless next month, would I be able to combine my wireless, internet, and TV into one bill or would I have 2?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
491
Location
Orlando, FL
thanks for the input everyone

I am a 1 TV household and I dont have PIP, so the 4 shows at once would definitely be enough (it would only be relevant for DVR purposes)

I am just wondering if it would be worth the PITA of switching companies just to save about $15/month

ricky - I am very concerned about that pixellation thing...have you heard that from other users? what type of TV are you on? I have 50" DLP, I wonder if I"d have the same problem??

Mike - I do have a question...Im for sure switching to AT&T wireless next month, would I be able to combine my wireless, internet, and TV into one bill or would I have 2?


1
 

fks

Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
2,756
Location
sf bay area
hi leighton-

i'm on a 37" LCD. i would think it would be even more visible on a 50" screen. i don't know anyone else with uverse.

ricky


ricky - I am very concerned about that pixellation thing...have you heard that from other users? what type of TV are you on? I have 50" DLP, I wonder if I"d have the same problem??

BTW, when uverse was installed, i still had comcast for about a month. i was able to switch between the two while watching HD broadcasts (lost and maybe heroes IIRC). comcast definitely had the better quality.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
491
Location
Orlando, FL
Its 1080P output, which is the same as bluray. You are aloud a max of 5 TV on the service but only 2 at any time will be able to get HDTV. This isnt cable or satelite. The service run through a ADSL connection. So consider this Streaming HDTV. You also have the abilty to look at Flickr accounts through your television...yes in HD.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
1,005
Location
STL
thanks ricky...one thing I like is that they do not require a contract, so if the quality is lacking then I wont have a hassle switching to something else

thanks again Mike

how does the signal get into my apartment?

is there a receiver of some sort, will they have to go in through a window, etc

or will it be through existing structure (assuming they have coverage in my locale)
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
491
Location
Orlando, FL
thanks ricky...one thing I like is that they do not require a contract, so if the quality is lacking then I wont have a hassle switching to something else

thanks again Mike

how does the signal get into my apartment?

is there a receiver of some sort, will they have to go in through a window, etc

or will it be through existing structure (assuming they have coverage in my locale)

you have ADSL?
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
1,005
Location
STL
I have no idea what that is

and I live in an apartment, however when I put my address in on ATTs website it says that service is available, but I dont know if that is relevant to this discussion
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
3,003
Location
San Jose Ca.
how does the signal get into my apartment?

In my nieghbors house the signal came in through the existing phone wires. Yes the four (two each for two phone lines)small wires that the phone uses.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
1,218
Location
DFW, Texas
I just switched from Charter cable to AT&T U-Verse three weeks ago. IMHO it is WAY better than cable for roughly the same money. Many more bells-and-whistles. The DVR lets you record up to 4 shows simultaneously. I find the interactive guide easy to use and love the search feature (something my cable didn't offer).

They will be rolling out "Whole Home DVR" soon. That oughta tip the scales quite a bit.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
153
Location
Wisconsin
I've been a U-Verse subscriber since May of 2007. I'm a sucker for being a guinea pig. After a few teething pains during the first few months the service has been close to perfect.

U-Verse literally networks your entire house with CAT5 cable. CAT5 goes to every TV. Each TV and each wired computer is assigned an IP address. The boxes run Windows CE. I have 3 TVs and 3 computers running off of it. The high def is noticably better than that I received with cable. The techs have told me the quality difference is due to the fact that when you choose a channel, you only receive the feed from that channel instead of the entire spectrum of channels. The "single feed" enables programming to be provided with less signal compression than cable.

Internet service has been rock-solid. I have 3Mbps service. I don't recall ever having to restart the system for internet-related issues. Even after my router got zapped by lightning the internet kept chugging along while the TV was dead.

It's worked out well for me.

Regards
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
311
I've been a U-Verse subscriber for since May of 2007. I'm a sucker for being a guinea pig. After a few teething pains during the first few months the service has been close to perfect.

U-Verse literally networks your entire house with CAT5 cable. Each TV and each wired computer is assigned an IP address. The boxes run Windows CE. I have 3 TVs and 3 computers running off of it. The high def is noticably better than that I received with cable. The techs have told me the quality difference is due to the fact that when you choose a channel, you only receive the feed from that channel instead of the entire spectrum of channels. The "single feed" enables programming to be provided with less signal compression than cable.

Internet service has been rock-solid. I have 3Mbps service. I don't recall ever having to restart the system for internet-related issues. Even after my router got zapped by lightning the internet kept chugging along while the TV was dead.

It's worked out well for me.

Regards

Thanks Joe, you just convinced me!
 

Latest threads

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom