Critique At the suggestion of Mike Buckley 2 photos converted to B&W

Mike suggested I convert two of my photos from our snowshoe outing yesterday to B&W. I am fairly new to B&W converting and would love any suggestions you might have. My thread with the color photos
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

The mood in the first (Silver Lake Inlet) becomes a bit more "sinister" in B&W; very nice, but not as inviting. The Silos is full of texture, but I do miss the vintage charm of the the old wood silo that stands out so well in color.

Very nice conversion. Excellent on the silos, love the tonalities and texture in the near snow bank and edge of the plowed street. Nice contrast in the brooding sky and a full range of tones of the silos and buildings. It really reflects some brilliance that i would expect on a bright winter day.

I am fairly new to B&W converting
I don't suppose I'll get away with asking you to stop mentioning that, will I? :) Your conversions are consistently as good as anybody's conversions, so it really doesn't matter that you're new at it.

I don't see anything sinister in the monochrome version of the inlet. Instead, I see the lines and textures brought out more in it. It turns out that the scene impresses me as I expected, that both versions are of equal value for different reasons.

The photo of the silos displayed in monochrome is also as I expected, a nice improvement over the color version. For me, the color of the wood silo is a problem in the color version. It sticks out from the line of other silos and its central location within the line makes both that line and the overall scene a bit static. The monochrome version allows its tones to blend in with the other silos.