B&H and a D6

This past weekend I purchased a Used D6 rated at a 10 in "like new" condition from B&H (as an fyi I've been purchasing from B&H for over 25 years). The camera arrived on Tuesday and was pristine with 4k clicks on the shutter. I tested it out with several lenses and compared it to my existing D6. All was as advertised, except for one issue --- card slot 2 would not accept a memory card. I could insert a card about 7/8th of the way and that was it. I could not see anything lodged in the bottom of the slot. I called B&H, explained the issue, and per the customer service agent they do not have an in house repair service and they refused to send the camera to Nikon for repair. I had 2 options; keep it and send it to Nikon for repair,on my dime, (which in all likely hood would have negated most of the savings on the purchase price from a new one) or return it for a full refund. I opted for the return.
I am not posting this as a negative on B&H, although I am disappointed with the service on this, but to advise anyone looking to purchase a "like new" D6 from B&H to beware. The serial number on the D6 is 3001432. Also I'm guessing that B&H's 90 warranty on their used equipment is strictly a "replace" and not a "repair" warranty and if they don't have another "used" item to "replace" the damaged one they will offer a refund. I will continue to purchase new items from B&H but will no longer purchase used cameras or lenses from them

Butlerkid

Cafe Ambassador
Administrator
Real Name
Karen
Sorry this happened. They should have checked it out better before offering it for sale! However, they aren't in the repair business so I wouldn't expect them to repair it. It is out of Nikon warranty, so they couldn't send it to Nikon. Full refund upon return is the fair thing to do. I've purchased used from them occasionally, but usually find the savings not enough to buy used. I usually opt for new.