Back from Paris-some comments in general

Since I'm known as the 'meandering moderator' I thought I'd recount some experiences along with presenting a selection of images from the 'City of Light.' This first post contains some observations, experiences, what worked, what didn't, what gear I used and what I did not use. My choice of equipment reflects the type of shooting I anticipated doping...YMMV.

Carolyn, my wife of 46 years and I have been traveling overseas yearly since 1994 so we've had plenty of experience and made more than our share of mistakes, both logistically and photographically. I thought it might help a few of you planning overseas trips. I readily acknowledge others may disagree with some of my observations. We offer them only as experiences and opinions.

First of all we booked with Air France using credit card miles with USAA. This airline was probably the least unpleasant, or let me say the most enjoyable flight we've ever made across the Atlantic. Luggage is now 50# for one bag per passenger and 10 kilo's for cabin carry aboard. I still am not sure about whether or not a camera, purse or computer all count towards the 22.5#. Keep in mind you have to be prepared for strict interpretation of the rules. An extra bag costs $50.00. We were dropped off at Dulles and it was a madhouse. Our 7:00 pm takeoff was delayed to 11:00 pm because of the unpronounceable volcano. A gentleman returning to Africa next to us had to pay $300 extra for his bags.