Backdrop advice

Discussion in 'Studio Equipment and Lighting' started by twig, Jun 5, 2005.

1. twig

twig

May 23, 2005
    Looking for recommended vendors/products for back drops.
    I need two portable back drops to use for photographing pets (so basically all hair colors from white-red-blond-black-etc.).
    My book says that reds are nice, and I suppose a second color like gray or off white or light blue might be a good compliment for those that red will not work for.

Suggestions, ideas, comments? I am new to this, I need something machine washable, and that can be hung on a back wall, but also draped over a posing table the animals will stand on (so it has to look good wrinkled, no ironing will keep it flat).

I have a shoot coming up in July using a grooming salon, and I would like to use a posing table with this backdrop and some SB800's to do the photo sessions.

I have no experience with portrait photography like this, or studio back drops, so any leads/advice are really appreciated.

2. I can recommend an eBay vendor called Photo4u. His backdrops are very nice quality and he has some interesting color combinations. He's maintained a fairly high feedback rating as well. I've been happy with the ones I've ordered from him. Watch the auctions, you usually can get it very cheap.

3. be careful about what the backdrop's made of

I just shot my two dogs on a white muslin backdrop, and one of them was "blowing his coat" which is a dog lover's euphemism for letting go with enormous tumbleweeds of undercoat at a time. Five minutes on the muslin and I had to stop and do extensive hair removal, because it had a surface texture to it, the hair gripped on. Bad, very bad. And the retouching...three pictures in, there was already hair on the backdrop and on the floor drop.