Backpacking with the 17-55 f/2.8 in Yosemite NP, California (dialup beware)

Discussion in 'Wanderlust and Travel' started by Skunkabilly, May 15, 2007.

1. Hello. The 18-200 is my standard lens but my dad was out of town so I borrowed his 17-55 f/2.8. I didn't find the short focal length limiting but found it was a bit much size and weight wise, though it's only a few more ounces than the 18-200, something about it feels...weighty. I brought my Fisheye and SB-800 along with me.

I'm not very good at the traditional landscape and prefer to focus more on the outdoorsey guy camp life type of photos. The photos are slightly overprocessed, but I'm tired of my conservative, traditional look and wanted to try something new. Please let me know what you think. I may not go with what you say but value your opinion nonetheless.

Thanks for looking :smile:

[​IMG]
    Howders from Yosemite National Park, California.

[​IMG]
    My friend Matthew Saville. Anyone who goes on a backpacking trip with two bodies and four lenses is a stud as far as I'm concerned.

[​IMG]
    Old school.

[​IMG]
    We walked among some pretty impressive trees.

[​IMG]
    Not a cactus, but it'll do.

[​IMG]
    Bottled at the source.

[​IMG]
    You won't believe how good the water up there tastes.

[​IMG]
    Taking in the view from atop Chinualna Falls.

[​IMG]
    A few hikers on their way up above the falls. We didn't see anyone else for 23 hours.

[​IMG] [​IMG]
    The trail wound up and up and up some more.

[​IMG]
    Slightly out of focus, but not as dramatic as Robert Capa's capture on D-Day. Still, the water was unbelievably cold. It was pretty demoralizing.

[​IMG]
    We caught a catnap in the early afternoon. We were going too slow a pace to go on, and made camp early.

[​IMG]
    We found a pretty sweet spot.

[​IMG]
    After taking another nap and doing a little reading, it was time to prepare some chow.

[​IMG] [​IMG]
    Freeze dried backpacking food. Tasty.

[​IMG]