1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Basketball Lens

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by gbenic, Oct 23, 2005.

1. Okay, I read the thread about the best lens for indoor basketball. I even asked a question and had it answered. Now, I have more questions.

I have decided that I would like to purchase a zoom lens. I am shooting with a D70 and it is 6th grade intramural basketball. I am not a pro nor do I desire to be. I am working in a tight budget. The suggestions to use a 50mm and an 85mm sound good, but I want the ability to zoom to help with framing. I also believe that I need a "fast" lens. I am considering the following:

1. Used Nikon 35-70/2.8 for ~$450 USD
    2. Nikon 80-200/2.8 AFD used for ~$600
    3. Sigma 24-70/2.8 used for ~$325 USD
    4. Tamron 28-105/2.8 used for ~$450 USD
    5. Sigma 28-70/2.8 used for ~$285 USD
    6. Tamron 28-75/2.8 new for ~$400 USD
    7. Tamron 35-105/2.8 used for ~$310 USD

I know that the list is long. That is why I need your help not only with the brand and quality, but with the focal length. Would 70mm be long enough to frame an individual player at mid court? Is 80mm too long at the short end? Are there any other lenses I should be considering? I would consider a combination of zooms or a main zoom and a prime if I could keep it in the $500 and under range. Perhaps I should just hang it up and use my kit lens?

Please help me, I am driving my wife nuts!

Thanks.

2. twig

twig

May 23, 2005
    Either budget for a flash and use that for all event or you MUST buy a prime that is faster than f/2.8 , unless your daughter plays her games at the Staples Center or Madison Square Garden.