1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Be careful what you wish for - help, advice needed...

Discussion in 'Studio Equipment and Lighting' started by Pixelographer, May 4, 2007.

1. Pixelographer

Pixelographer

Dec 22, 2006
    Nikon Cafe Pros:
    Because some of my pictures have been brought the to attention of a local wildlife preserve, they've asked to meet with me about using (some of) them for their publications. Of course, as an amateur, I'm honored and flattered. As a potential 'semi-pro', I'm concerned about misrepresting myself, asking for too much, asking for too little, etc.
    Need, then, advice on how to handle introductory meeting about this, given these data points:
    Portfolio? Don't have one.
    Prices? No idea.
    Copyrights, exclusive use of pictures? Understand the concepts only.
    Any / all advice welcome.
    Thanks in advance
    Dave

2. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Ask Jim Fenton
    Pm or e-mail him

3. Pixelographer

Pixelographer

Dec 22, 2006
    Gale:
    Jim Fenton? Member here?
    Thanks
    Dave

4. Here is a place to start for pricing.

http://www.photographersindex.com/price-adv-calc.htm

As to the rest, avoid anything that says "in perpetuity". Always put a time limit on use 1-5 years. Also the usage is for that medium only. If they buy it to make a calendar and then use it for post cards, they need to renegotiate use for the post cards.