Best Cheap Wine !!

Having been drinking and falling down for decades, I consider myself an authority on "cheap" wine. I hereby nominate: Carlo Rossi - California Red, as the best bargain out there. 1.5L for a measly $12US and yes ... it's the fancy red stuff.

I'm also an expert on coffee and seafood ;) :D
If you know of something that comes close, do tell.
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Last edited:
I've never had any Carlo Rossi wines, which is a shame considering that my grandfather's last name was Rossi. My nomination for an exceptional value is Carnivor Cabernet Sauvignon. I can regularly buy it for $9.27, which with a 20% discount coupon becomes only $7.42. That's for a 750ml bottle. Not quite as cheap as your Carlo Rossi, but close.

We used to buy Carlo Rossi back in the mid 70's when we were in grad school, and one day a friend told us that we shouldn't be chilling the red. That began our long, expensive slide down the wine road. Back then it was $3 a gallon!

We have always had a quality control at our table as well as not near the table, buy majority vote we have come to the conclusion that if it stains the table cloth it passes quality control.
My campers choice was Rossi Pasiano, on sale for $5.99 a gallon, hell it cost that much for the glass bottle, it had been known to put you in the parking lot in just your underwear.

Decided to live a little and got a Litre and 1/2 of ... Peller Estates - Cabernet Merlot $14
Apparently they source out the grapes worldwide to get lowest/cheapest quality possible. Best NOT served, but if you must, let it breath for a couple hours :hungover:
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

We are cheap wine aficionados in this house. House white is Beringer Chardonnay, house red is Lindemann's Cabernet Sauvignon. Both run about $5-$6 for a 3/4 liter bottle. We buy in six-bottle lots to get a 10% discount at our local Kroger store.

We go a bit more upscale on weekends. :)