1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Best Indoor Lens

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by BIGBEAR, Aug 22, 2008.

1. BIGBEAR

BIGBEAR

Nov 16, 2007
    Forney, Texas
    I am looking to get a lens for shooting indoors. Mostly using at birthdays, Christmas, my wife and three dogs asleep on the couch, etc. I have noticed that most of my family have very low light in there homes so I guess I will need a fast lens because I have yet to figure out how to use the flash. I own a 50mm f/1.4 but I need it to be a little wider when shooting a couple or something like that. I am still learning learning but since I got on this forum I have learned alot, Quick. Thanks to everyone for the help.

2. panda81

panda81

Feb 7, 2008
    Texas
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2017
  3. gadgetguy11

gadgetguy11

Nov 16, 2005
    Kentucky
    The 17-55 /f2.8 should be perfect for these applications. If you need wider, still (doubt it), add the 12-24 /f4.0 to the mix. Both lenses are available at bargain prices here periodically, or you might consider listing a WTB for them.

There are many images posted which were taken with both lenses; do a search if you are interested.

As far as figuring out how to use the flash, I am with you on that! Problem solved!! I sold the SB-800's and replaced with one SB-900. It is so simple to use, no instructions are required.

4. NateS

NateS

Oct 11, 2007
    Missouri
    I know it's not what you asked for, but my suggestion is to get an SB-600 and learn to use the flash. Using it as a bounce flash is not hard and you'll get better pictures using that than with a fast lens in low light (in my opinion). Honestly my SB-600 has helped to improve my photos more than anything else.

5. bradNYC

bradNYC

Mar 28, 2008
    NYC