big difference

Discussion in 'Nikon Capture and View NX' started by jim hughes, Aug 26, 2008.

1. jim hughes

jim hughes

Jun 12, 2008
    Minneapolis
    Until now I've been the poster boy for Hardware Deficiency Syndrome, running NX2 on an Athlon 2800 with 1 GB, and on Vista just to make things worse. I've now bought a new PC with a 4-core Intel processor, 4GB and a SATA drive. Being a developer, I also have the latest C++ runtimes and .NET framework installed.

The difference, for NX2, is major - rendering times are way down. So I am here today to tell you that there is light at the end of the tunnel and with adequate hardware, NX2 does come to life.

2. How about demonstrating it by showing us a picture of an oncoming freight train. :biggrin:

Seriously, congratulations on your new toys. I'm sure NX2 will be a lot more enjoyable for you now.

3. SWLD

SWLD

Feb 10, 2008
    GB
    Jim - did having the latest C++ and .NET Framework make much difference on your Athlon 2800 machine?

NX2 is very slow on my PC (Athlon 2600, 1.5GB RAM, 500GB SATA drive and Vista Ultimate). I'd build a faster machine but can't afford it so I was hoping to get NX2 running better on the existing PC.

Any ideas?

4. bh626

bh626

Mar 6, 2006
    Ontario
    SWLD, unfortunately your CPU and RAM are holding you back and Vista doesn't help either. For your hardware XP is a better fit. The newer libraries may help, but not like new hardware. In any event download and try them. Also check your RAM usage (Task manager). If you are using your Swap file ie: you have very little physical memory available (and you probably are with Vista/NX2) this will slow you down more than anything. Here's where another Gb of Ram will help - remember Vista recommends 4 Gb of Ram to run well.

5. jim hughes

jim hughes

Jun 12, 2008
    Minneapolis