blinking rgb on d200 lcd playback

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by mrdinh, Dec 24, 2005.

1. mrdinh

mrdinh

Mar 8, 2005
    North Dakota
    what or why does it do that?

2. You must have the highlights display selected.
    It's blinking along with any RGB blown highlights in the shot.
    Try taking a massively overexposed picture and you'll see why.
    The RGB blinks because you can also (with the multi-image grid button and the multi-selector) select individual Red, Green, or Blue channel highlights.
    you can turn this screen off if you don't want highlights in your playback info screens, btw.

3. MarkM

MarkM

Dec 20, 2005
    Tampa Florida
    I was told that the blinking means that there is a spike or 'blown highlight' in the image. I am new to this and do not know the proper technical terms, sorry. I have experienced the same situation while playing/learning with my D200 and noticed that if you look real close into the image, you will find a spot that blinks along with the rgb. AS an example, I took a picture in my living room and the flash reflection from my tv (which was turned off) showed up as a white spot in the image and was blinking.

hope this helps - it is almost like a game of hide and seek - I take a picture and try to find the blinking pixels - lol.

Happy Holidays
    Mark

4. MarkM

MarkM

Dec 20, 2005
    Tampa Florida
    lol - yep, what Harrison said - gee, you type fast, beat me to the post button

5. mrdinh

mrdinh

Mar 8, 2005
    North Dakota
    guess nothing bad then?...geesh...all these damn probs people are reporting on dpreview is crazy....sup?

thanks again for your help

6. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Well stay out of DPR..Or only listen to the pros.. You know who thery are.