Book Review: Digital Photography Hacks

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cmpalmer, Nov 22, 2005.

1. cmpalmer

cmpalmer

Jan 27, 2005
    Huntsville, AL
    I wrote this review for my blog, which has an Amazon Associates link for buying the book, but thought it would be of interest to the Nikon Cafe members as well.

As a computer engineer, I am a big fan of O'Reilly's line of computer books. The "Hacks" series by O'Reilly is an interesting experiment in collecting 100 extended tips and tricks on various subjects. These tips are "hacks" in the sense of a "quick and dirty" solution to a problem or a clever way to get something done, not anything malicious.

Since I recently bought a used Nikon D70 digital SLR and have been active on Nikon Cafe, I've been looking for good books on digital photography, but most books are either rehashes of camera manuals, books on general photography with a few side notes on digital, or just Photoshop manuals disguised as photography books. Actually, since digital SLRs deliberately emulate 35mm film SLRs, I've found that books on general photography are very useful, as are books on PhotoShop and Paint Shop Pro (which I currently use - I haven't broke down and bought PhotoShop yet).

Digital Photography Hacks takes a rather shotgun approach to the whole concept of digital photography. That means that there is probably something in here for everyone, but if you are looking for a complete set of tips and tricks that apply specifically to your needs, you might feel the book is incomplete. Personally, I enjoyed reading them all and got a few good ideas from tips that, at first, didn't seem useful to me.