Bottled water vs purifiers

Well, this should hopefully an interesting thread -
We've been buying bottled water since our water softener/purifier broke down. I'm tempted to get one of those britas or a pur - has anyone had any experience with either?

I have a 2 gallon Brita that I've been using for over 10 years. It's a bit of a pain to refill. But any purifier is a lot cheaper than bottled water. And better for the environment.

We have really good tap water here, but I started drinking filtered when my wife and I moved in together. Now even our comparatively good tap water tastes funny after filtered!

I try to avoid bottled water because it takes so much oil every year to produce the bottles, most still end up in landfills, and some have bisphenol-A. The few plastic reusable bottles we have are bpa free and are being replaced by stainless.

My in-laws use a Brita and it seems to work about as well as our inline filter.

The brita filters I've used, and I've also used the pur filter pitchers. They're OK. Not great by any means. Bottled water tastes better.

Before I moved I used a water distiller. You can't compare anything to distilled. There is no taste at all, and once you get used to distilled, even bottled water has an after taste. Plus, you're sure that it's clean, and doesn't have anything in it.

A lot depends on what you are trying to accomplish. In most places, it is perfectly safe to drink the water right out of the tap. Keep in mind that the filters in Brita and Pur type devices are a pretty minimal carbon based filter which decreases odors and tastes by polishing the water. The water where I live has a horrible taste and many dissolved solids. I use a reverse osmosis system for my drinking water. The cost is reasonable to install, and I change the prefilters twice a year and the RO membrane once a year. Another option if you want very pure water is a distiller, but these can be a hassle to use and require electricity.