Brexit Day

Real Name
Ross
As many of you know I am studying abroad in Cambridge. Last weekend I went down to London (among other places, see my weekend thread here: https://www.nikoncafe.com/threads/study-abroad-4-london-bath-and-oxford.320637/) with some friends, one of the major reasons being to be there for Brexit. As a Politics & International Affairs and Economics double major, I loved being there to be able to see the signs and hear the rhetoric of both sides and to document and experience the moment. I hope this thread won't get political as I know it is an incredibly divisive issue, especially over here, but as a foreigner and student, it was extremely interesting to look at everything from a somewhat withdrawn position and experience the moment. Here are a few shots from a morning pro-Brexit demonstration in parliament square. This was a lot of fun for me as there was more opportunity to mingle with the attendees, read their signs, and listen in on conversations and debate which I loved.
DSC_1229-X3.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

1. Demonstrators congregated around this statue of Churchill for this morning demonstration as well as the party that night.
DSC_1240-X3.jpg

2. It was interesting to see a lot of American flags, and there was a lot of talk of Brexit day as a sort of Independence day, a view that I had heard but wasn't as prominent in the news I read as it seemed to be in person. Lots of people both in the morning and night wished each other "happy independence day"
DSC_1244-X3.jpg

3. Men offering "free shoe wipes" to people passing by.
DSC_1250-X3.jpg

4. More of the signs and flags, with Westminster in the background.